January 2017 Meeting Minutes

Minutes of the January 21, 2017 Meeting at Original Mel’s Diner in Auburn, CA

President Greg Hill called the meeting to order at 9:03 A.M.

Invocation: Gordon Clark did the invocation.

SAR Pledge: The SAR Pledge was led by Alan Brooking.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Dale Ross.

Introductions of Guests: The guests for the Decmber meeting were Jeannette Clark, Conni Barker, Coreena Ross, Rodney Campbell, Mike Hurst, Jon Patrick, Elizabeth Hill

Approval of Minutes: Mike Holmes made the motion to approve the minutes as published on the chapter website. Gordon Clark seconded the motion. The motion was approved.

Guest Speaker

The guest speaker was Jon Patrick who is a retired from the U.S.M.C. He said that he was a soldier
For President Clinton and President Bush. He served with the Presidents for 22 visits. He actually met both of the Presidents. He spoke about the Forgotten Soldier Project that is located in Auburn. President Greg Hill presented Jon Patrick with a Certificate of Appreciation from the Gold Country Chapter SAR.

Chapter Reports

President’s Report: President Greg Hill spoke about the upcoming poster contest for the chapter.

1st Vice President’s Report: There was no report given.

2nd Vice President’s Report: There was no report given.

Treasurer’s Report: President Greg Hill gave the treasurer’s report. Dave Gilliard was not present at the chapter meeting.

Secretary’s Report: There was no report given.

Eagle Scout Report: There was no report given.

Poster Judging Contest: President Greg Hill spoke about the poster contest starting in January and there was a new school added this year.

Valley Forge: There was no report given

J.R.O.T.C. Program: Mike Holmes spoke about the J.R.O.T.C. awards.

Historian/Chaplain Report: There was no report given.

Registrar’s Report: Tony Chakurian will be the new Chapter Registrar. Rodney Campbell was inducted into the chapter as a new member.

Colorguard Reports: No report was given.

Chaplain’s Report: No report was given.

Newsletter Editor: No report was given.

New Business

The following officers were sworn in at the January Chapter Meeting.
Greg Hill, President
Mike Holmes, First Vice-President
Gordon Clark, Second Vice-President
Dave Gilliard, Treasurer
Dale Ross, Recording Secretary
Ron Barker, Secretary
Tony Chakurian, Registrar & Genealogist
Gordon Clark, Chaplain


Greg Hill called for the meeting to be adjourned. Gordon Clark seconded the motion. Motion carried.
Benediction: Gordon Clark led the benediction at the meeting.
SAR Recessional: The SAR Recessional was led by Jay Almquist.

The meeting adjourned at 10:20 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Dale T. Ross